top of page

My Three Essential Lenses (Under £300)

Updated: Nov 17, 2019

Choosing camera lenses can be difficult. Feeling like you need the most expensive lenses to make the best shots, which isn't always true. This post is my three lenses that cover most of the basics at affordable pricing for new photographers who aren't invested fully or people who just don't have the money to buy £500-£2000 lenses, and I mean who can blame you, lenses really are big investments.


1. 50mm Prime Lens.

I know it has been said a million times. But this 50mm lens is essential. It is cheap, light, versatile, perfect for portrait shots as this lens can create a shallow depth of field with ease. This lens takes up almost no room and is a cheap lens there is no good reason not to have this in your bag or pocket at all times. This lens retails from £50 -£100 depending on whether you buy a first or second hand lens. I bought mine second hand in perfect condition with box included, was a real bargain.


2. A Telephoto Lens

Since being younger I'm on habit of a budget when it comes to my lenses I use the 55-250mm f/4-5.6 IS STM Canon lens. I would love a 70-200mm but it is an investment I can not make. But a telephoto lens is a necessity if ever shooting wildlife and not getting dangerously close to the subject. The 55-250mm retails around £100-£300 again depending on how you buy it. This was another lens I managed to get in perfect condition with the box second hand for just £120 I believe. Other cheaper telephoto lens options include the 75-300mm which retails for £100-£250 depending on which mark lens you get.


3. My Kit Lens

Now I know this may be controversial as many photographers say don't buy the kit lens just buy the body. But with most beginner DSLRs you receive the kit lens anyway and I honestly think if it is your first DSLR then the kit lens can be helpful in helping you find your feet it has a small zoom range and is quite compact. Of course it is never going to be the best quality but I do use it for middle of the road shots where my 50mm doesn't allow me the zoom. Usually this is gotten at purchase of the camera but to buy one online alone costs just £60-£100. This price is for the 18-55mm not the 18-135mm with more capabilities, this ranges more like £100-£300.


Thankyou for reading, for more photography related content subscribe to my blog! Any questions or queries then let me know in a comment or email me!

17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page